The Evening of Applause celebrated Students Who Make a Difference recipients and City of Timmins Human Rights Wall of Fame inductees. The evening included entertainment from local schools, as well as special performances from cultural groups. The event was held in conjunction with the United Nation’s International Day for the Elimination for Racial Discrimination (IDERD), which takes place each year on March 21 around the world.

This year the Timmins Together committee named Julie Béchard, founding Executive Director of le Centre Passerelle pour femmes du nord de l’Ontario, to the Human Rights Wall of Fame. Julie was recognized for her dedication to advocating for women’s rights in our community, especially for francophone women. The committee also named Nicole Gillard and Mel Chartier, founders of Project Love, recognizing them for their dedication in providing meals to community members facing hardships. Photos of inducted members will be displayed on the Human Rights Wall of Fame, which is located at the main entrance to the Timmins Public Library/ CHMA Building and is generously sponsored by the City of Timmins.

Congratulations to the following students who were recognized for making a difference in our local community!

From District School Board Ontario North East:
— TH&VS: Braydon Crawford
— Kishinohamatowin: Anderson Katapaytuk
— RMSS: Erica Carriere
— Pinecrest Public School (gr 1-3): Lilia Millions
— Schumacher Public School (Gr 4-8): Rohan Dumas

From Conseil scolaire public du Nord-Est de l’Ontario:
— Lionel-Gauthier: Elena Stein
— Renaissance: Valérie Lacroix
— Renaissance: Brandon Bergeron

From Northeastern Catholic District School Board:
— O’Gorman High School (2): Leo Marianne Romero & Noah Hunter
— Pope Francis Elementary School: Gabriel Carriere
— St. Joseph School: Ayden Rochon

From Conseil scolaire catholique des Grandes Rivières:
— École catholique St-Jude: Audrey-Lyn Desjardins
— École catholique Sacré-Coeur: Evan Nichols
— École secondaire catholique Thériault: Jasmine Aubry

The Evening of Applause was sponsored by Goldcorp and organized by the Timmins Together Committee representing Université de Hearst, Collège Boréal, District School Board Ontario North East, Conseil scolaire public du Nord-Est de l’Ontario, Northeastern Catholic District School Board, Conseil scolaire catholique de district des Grandes Rivières, Northern College, Timmins Local Immigration Partnership, Timmins & District Multicultural Centre, Algoma University, Cochrane District Social Planning Council, and the City of Timmins.

Filed under: Local News