As part of a celebration of the 80th anniversary of the McIntyre Community Building and its founder, the late J.P. Bickell, the Hockey Hall of Fame (HHOF) travelling exhibit will be coming to Timmins on May 6 and 7 from 1 pm to 8 pm .

The event, which is free to the public, has been made possible through the financial support of Scotiabank and the efforts of Mr. Bickell’s cousin Graham MacLachlan, who spearheaded the project.

“Scotiabank is proud to partner with the Hockey Hall of Fame and the City of Timmins to bring this exhibit to Timmins,” said Kevin Proctor, District Vice President Ontario North at Scotiabank. “Hockey matters to Scotiabank because it matters to Canadians and that’s why we want to recognize the tremendous impact that J.P. Bickell had on this community by bringing this exhibit to Timmins. As an organization, Scotiabank continues our longtime commitement to the sport of hockey through our support of over one million kids and counting through community hockey programs.”

The Hockey Hall of Fame will be bringing original trophies including the Calder Memorial Trophy, which recognizes rookie of the year, and the Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy, which recognizes the player with most goals in a season. The Calder Memorial Trophy was won by Schumacher natives Frank Mahovlich and Eric Vail, and the Maurice Richard trophy was previously won by Moosonee’s Jonathan Cheechoo.

In addition to the trophies, the Hockey Hall of Fame, in conjunction with the NOHA’s 100th anniversary, will be bringing a 1,500-square-foot exhibit that includes a retrospective history of hockey in Northern Ontario, including players already enshrined in the Hall of Fame and other Northern Ontario greats.

– Frank Mahovlich – Schumacher- Bill Barilko – Timmins
– Tim Horton – Cochrane
– Phil and Tony Esposito – Sault Ste Marie
– Bill Barber – Callander
– Ed Giacomin – Sudbury
– Ron Francis – Sault Ste Marie
– HHOF Legends – Players
– HHOF Legends – Builders
– Women’s Hockey History
– Local-Area Hockey – NOHA Players
– Local-Area Hockey – NOHA Teams

While the older generations are absorbed in the memories, the kids will be able to participate in a number of interactive games, such as:
– Electronic hockey net
– Radar cage
– Mini-rink
– Skee Puck
– Bubble Hockey

Mr. J.P. Bickell was the majority owner, president, chairman and director of the Toronto Maple Leaf Hockey Club and Maple Leaf Gardens from 1924 to 1951. During his tenure, the team won seven Stanley Cups.

Mr. Bickell was instrumental, as president of McIntyre Porcupine Mines, in having the McIntyre Community Building constructed for the mine’s employees in 1938. The grand opening took place in 1939 with Mr. Bickell arranging a blue-white Toronto Maple Leaf game.

The facility was ahead of its time, hosting a hockey ring with 1,800 seats, a six-sheet curling arena, a full-service gymnasium, an auditorium with a stage, a private mirrored rink for figure skaters and a six-lane bowling alley.

Mr. Graham MacLachlan is the co-author of the book about J.P Bickell that outlined the life of a great Canadian. The book is called J.P. Bickell, the Life, the Leafs and the Legacy. Mr. MacLachlan will be in attendance to autograph copies of the book along with bringing the J.P. Bickell Memorial Award, which is a trophy awarded to a most deserving Maple Leaf, as voted on by the board of directors. This is the first time that the trophy will be on public display.