Two students from Timmins-James Bay have been awarded a Ted Rogers Scholarship. Melina Hunter of Peawanuck and Syvanna Koostachin of Timmins have been selected to receive one of 150 scholarships.


Rogers hands out youth scholarships of up to $10,000 over 4 years to community leaders across Canada.


MP Charlie Angus says these 2 young girls have been identified for their incredible potential. “The program helps young leaders overcome barriers to accessing post-secondary education.”


Angus says Syvanna and Melina will now be able to pursue their education and continue to be community leaders. “This program helps young leaders realize their dream of a higher education. I congratulate the youth and thank Rogers for their commitment to this scholarship program.”

Filed under: Local News